• FERWADE renewed its registration

Following the revisions of the laws governing non-governmental organization by the Rwanda Governance Board, the Rwanda Chess Federation has renewed successfully its registration in accordance with the article 16 of the law N0. 04/2012 of 17th February, 2012 governing the establishment and functioning of non-governmental organization.

FERWADE had been granted, prior to this revisions, a legal personality as per the ministerial decree No. 020/11 of 5th March 2003.


  • Chess Masters for Africa

12 players have complete the first phase of the Chess Masters for Africa (CMFA) Training by GM Kenny Solomon from the Republic of South Africa, under the support and sponsorship of the Paul Allen Family Foundation in collaboration with Kasparov Chess Foundation Africa (KCF-A). The 6-days training took place from 17th February to 23th February, at Classic Hotel, in Kigali. "the training was very instructive and we are eager to share our knowledge with the young ones", said one of the trainees. Indeed, each trainee was allocated to one school around Kigali in order to introduce and teach the game of Chess.


  • Final Qualifiers (Open & Ladies Categories) concluded

The Final Qualifiers for the Chess Olympiad, Open & Ladies categories concluded on 29th May 2016 and 12th June 2016 respectively. The following are the TOP 5 players in both categories who will constitute the National Chess Team:


  1. Kabera Godfrey (CM)
  2. Ruzigura Alexis (CM)
  3. Kagabo Eugene          
  4. Rukimbira Valentin 
  5. Niyibizi A. Patience


  1. Shimwa Marie Faustine
  2. Niyonsaba Aline
  3. Uwase Sandrine
  4. Kalisa K. Odile
  5. Uwase Joselyne


  • Election of new FERWADE Leadership

FERWADE has a new Leadership for the next 4 years, effective 24th April 2016.
Congratulations to the new Office.

Executive Committee

President: GANZA Kevin
Executive Secretary General: NIYIBIZI Alain Patience
Treasurer: RUGABIRA Christella

Advisors: RUZIGURA Alexis and RUTAYISIRE Johnson

Technical Committee Director: MUTABAZI Fidele

Technical Committee Members:
1. TUYIZERE Elysee
2. RUKIMBIRA Valentin
3. KALISA Odile

1. NGENDO Joseph

Conflict Resolution Organ Members:
2. MBABAZI Gerard
3. IRADUKUNDA Ange Clement


  • National Chess League 2015 concluded

          Team Winner: Eagles B

          (was fielded by the Eagles Chess Club)

Best Board 1: Kagabo Eugene

Best Board 2: Kabera Godfrey (CM)

Best Board 3: Ruzigura Alexis (CM)

Best Board 4: Mutabazi Fidele

Best Board 5 (Women): Shimwa M. Faustine


  • Chess in School

Chess launched in Kagarama Secondary School

(Sunday, 27th March 2016)





Useful links


Background, Vision, Mission


FERWADE Management

Clubs Directory